in which there are phone calls, emails and rollover minutes

March 26, 2009 at 10:24 am Leave a comment

So in my last post, I told you all about my weekend full of hiking, booze and college friends. I wrote about how Dom and I talked for about five hours on Saturday night / Sunday morning, and really reconnected with each other. Well…

Since then, we have talked almost every single day. For at least an hour. Sometimes on the phone, sometimes online, sometimes a combo. I’ve actually used up all of my Anytime Minutes on my cell phone plan for the first time since I got it. I’ve finally had to dip into my rollover minutes. Somedays we email each other back and forth upwards of sixteen times while he’s at work and I’m home getting ready to move. It’s completely and totally bizarre. I can’t talk to anyone the way I can talk to him. We just… get each other. Does that make sense? Is there someone in your life who gets what you’re saying all the time without explanation? That’s the way we are. We just understand. It’s what attracted us to each other in the first place, way back when. And the best part is, there is nothing romantic about it at all. We’re just kick-ass friends all of a sudden.

However, not everyone is loving our newfound friendship. Dom has a girlfriend who is less than pleased. She’s coming around to the fact that it’s just friendship, which is good. I know it can be tough when your boyfriend or girlfriend has a really close friend of the opposite sex. It just makes it tougher that we used to date. Granted, we dated four years ago, when we were nineteen. But it doesn’t change the fact that at one point, there was a romantic relationship between us. Also, Jesse is being weird about it. I think he’s just being an idiot. He says he’s fine with it, but I can tell he isn’t. And some of our other friends are acting weird about it too. My close girlfriends seem to think that now I’m hiding things from them, because I mentioned that I had talked to Dom about some stuff that I’ve never talked to anyone else about. So now they’re a little hurt.

Both of us feel like we have to defend being friends, which is insanely frustrating. Why can’t we just be friends? Yes, I get it. We dated. But… we dated FOUR years ago. We’ve both had serious relationships since then. We’re so past that point of our lives that it’s ridiculous. We’re completely different people now. Ugh. Have you ever had this problem? How have you dealt with it? I would seriously appreciate any tips or ideas!

Entry filed under: general. Tags: , , , .

in which there is a road trip in which i have returned

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


calendar

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

recent

archives

RSS RebaRuns

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

i’m a member of…

celebrate in…

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

