in which i have read a lot: february

March 2, 2009 at 6:02 pm 2 comments

As promised, here is the February update on my goal to read 52 books this year.

Week Five: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

I had started this in the last week January, and finished it in February. Holy mackerel was it amazing. It was completely different than anything I have ever read, and although it took me quite a while to get used to the style of writing, I was hooked by about the 20th page. I definitely recommend this one. It’s quite intense at different parts and slightly gory at others, but overall it’s just an amazing story.

Week Six: HP & The Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling

Seriously, have I not mentioned that I love the Harry Potter books? Hahaha. Recently, I’ve been rereading the seventh one over and over again. I realized it had been quite a while since I read HBP, and with the movie on the horizon (how much farther away could July possibly be?!?) I thought it would be a good idea to remind myself of the book. Fabulous as always.

Week Seven: Flood Tide by Clive Cussler
Week Eight: Valhalla Rising by Clive Cussler
Week Nine: Trojan Odyssey by Clive Cussler

I went on a bit of a Clive Cussler kick this month. His books are just insanely fun to read. They are all adventure stories, mostly based on this character Dirk Pitt. If you’ve seen the movie Sahara, that was based off one of Cussler’s novels. They’re all crazy underwater adventures, with some complete psycho attempting to destroy something or kill someone or control something in order to be the most powerful-wealthy person in the world. Dirk Pitt and his sidekick, Al, get into the craziest situations and manage to get out of them in completely unrealistic ways. Totally fun books to lose yourself in.

Week Nine: Lucia Lucia by Adriana Trigiana

I bought this book a few years ago simply because I liked the cover and that it was about an Italian family. And, luckily, I ended up loving the book. It is the story of a young Italian-American woman named Lucia and how her life was irrevocably changed by a handsome stranger. It’s a great story: sweet at times, painful at times, tragic at times. Certain moments even make me tear up. It’s a pretty quick read, and it’s an interesting look at the life and traditions of an Italian-American family in the 1950s.

That brings the grand total up to 12 out of 52 books. And in only 9 weeks! I’m three ahead! Wooo! Read anything great lately? I already have my March books picked out (because the rest are packed in boxes ready to be sent to North Carolina), but I’d love some recommendations for April and beyond!

Past Months: January

Entry filed under: general. Tags: , , , .

in which i twitter in which i ask

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. katelin  |  March 2, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    man and i thought i was doing good with six books for the year, haha.

  • 2. E.P.  |  March 2, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Impressive, lady! I’ve stalled a little on my reading. And I need to pick up the HP books again because those are always fun!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


calendar

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

recent

archives

RSS RebaRuns

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

i’m a member of…

celebrate in…

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

