in which i have jury duty

January 30, 2009 at 2:20 pm 4 comments

So I had jury duty today. I watched the first fifteen or so minutes of Indian Jones & The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull before I was called into a jury panel. After about forty minutes of questions, I was chosen to be on the jury for a trial. The crime was a theft of services. I thought it could be interesting.

Turns out, not so much. Basically, this woman called for a taxi, took the cab ride home, and then didn’t pay because she didn’t have any money. For some reason, she plead not-guilty. But when she got up to testify, she said that she didn’t pay.

The defense’s argument was that she isn’t in charge of her own finances, so it wasn’t her fault she couldn’t pay. We didn’t really buy it, and after an hour and a half lunch break, followed by about one minute of deliberations, we returned a Guilty verdict.

Uber-exciting, right?

I did get to be the foreperson though, which was kinda cool. And it was interesting seeing how to whole process plays out.

Have you ever served jury duty? Was your trial more interesting than mine?

Entry filed under: general. Tags: , , .

in which there is inspiration in which i have read a lot: january

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mihoriel  |  January 30, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    I never been on jury duty and always wonder when I’m going to be called up. My mom’s done it but she never get to be on the actual jury so she spends the day waiting. I think looking at the process would be fun though too.

  • 2. Jury Experiences  |  January 30, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    […] Read the rest… […]

  • 3. reederscorner  |  January 31, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I’ve never been called for jury duty, but I’ve always wondered what it would be like. Thanks for the insight!

  • 4. Carol  |  February 13, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    My (should have been) brief experience as a juror:

    Day 1: sit in bull-pen. not called
    Day 2: think I’m going to escape but called in the afternoon and get seated
    Day 3: Decide prosecutor is a lousy actress when she tries to project indignance at the beginning of her statement. Lose track of things and am once again reminded I don’t really learn or absorb well from hearing stuff – I’m a reader, a visual learner. Crime is burglary with domestic violence: boyfriend broke into girl’s apartment and trashed the place, even throwing stuff into the courtyard from a second-story window. Prosecutor plays 911 tape (which I forgot had happened when we were “deliberating”) Witnesses are responding cop, and neighbor. Neighbor is worth looking at to count his prison tattoos.
    Day 4: Left sitting in jury room that is NOT big enough for 14 for an hour and a half until we are finally told one of the lawyers has food poisoning. Dismissed for day – go to work.
    Day 5: Victim testifies for the defense. Silly bitch says neighbor (who testified the day before) did it.
    Day 6: Deliberations. It was completely clear to anyone with a brain that girlfriend was a complete and utter dunce who regretted pressing charges against boyfriend so she and he cooked up a story about the neighbor trashing her apartment for no apparent reason. Two of us, me included, voted Not Guilty on the first ballot. I did because I thought we should at least discuss the possibility that girlfriend wasn’t a moron and that boyfriend didn’t have soft wet eyes like a manipulative narcissist. After that we voted guilty.

    And that was it. I still resent having my time taken up by some twit’s domestic drama. I expect boyfriend has thoroughly beaten the living daylights out of her by now, and I can only hope she wised up and learned the appropriate lesson.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


calendar

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

recent

archives

RSS RebaRuns

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

i’m a member of…

celebrate in…

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

