apparently i’m pathetically lonely

September 16, 2008 at 5:47 pm Leave a comment

J went on a date last weekend, and it kind of ticked me off.

Not because he’s my ex-boyfriend and he’s showing interest in another girl. But because he felt like he needed to lie to me about it. We were at a party at Jersey‘s house, and I noticed he kept texting someone, and when I asked who it was… he didn’t want to tell me. He finally caved (after about twenty minutes), and said it was a mutual friend of ours who we both met through Meetup. He said he just wanted to see if she wanted to hang out the next day.

Now… he told me that he liked this girl about three months ago when we both first met her. But last weekend, he tried to lie to me about it and say that he didn’t like her and he never did. Driving back into the city, he finally admitted that he does still like her, but he didn’t want me to know because he didn’t want me to be upset that he was dating again.

And then he told me that I needed to start dating again so that I wouldn’t be lonely. That, my friends, was when the anger reared its head. I am not lonely. And I don’t want him to think that I’m so pathetically lost without him in my life romantically that I would be super upset if he started dating again, because I wouldn’t be. He is officially my good friend first, and my ex-boyfriend second. I would be happy for him if he started dating.

I, however, am totally happy being single right now. I’ve always equally enjoyed being single and being attached. And I’m also not too keen to jump into a new relationship. I’ve only been single for a few months, and I’m pretty guarded when it comes to romance. If I met someone I was interested in, I would probably date them… but I haven’t met anyone yet.

Actually… I did go on one date. We’ll call him Henry, but he won’t even get a bio on the Characters page since he was in and out of my life in about one night. Henry and I went out once, had a great time, totally hit it off, and even kissed goodnight. And then Henry told me that he had a girlfriend back in NY who would be moving out here a few weeks later to be with him.

Holy buzzkill. Needless to say, we haven’t spoken since.

Anyway, I know a lot of people are probably thinking, “Yeah right. You totally got mad because your ex wants to date someone new.” But I promise that isn’t the case. I’m genuinely over him romantically. I will be happy for him when he gets a new girlfriend.

I just don’t like being lied to. Especially by him, because I can always tell. I’ve known him for five years… I probably know him better than almost anyone. So it pisses me off when he lies to me.

End of rant.

How are you?

Entry filed under: general. Tags: , , .

the quest to end screen addiction politics don’t define me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


calendar

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

recent

archives

RSS RebaRuns

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

i’m a member of…

celebrate in…

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

